Disaster Relief Information

How to Register for Disaster Assistance

Oklahoma experienced a devastating round of severe weather this year. The losses from tornadoes and flooding were widespread in communities across the state, including several areas in the Fourth District. If your household experienced losses to property due to the storms, you may be eligible for disaster assistance through FEMA

What is disaster assistance?

According to FEMA, disaster assistance is financial or direct assistance to individuals and families whose property has been damaged or destroyed as a result of a federally-declared disaster, and whose losses are not covered by insurance. It is meant to help you with critical expenses that cannot be covered in other ways. This assistance is not intended to restore your damaged property to its condition before the disaster. 

How do I apply?

Registration is currently open through FEMA and can be easily completed through one of the following methods. 

Online: DisasterAssistance.gov
Smartphone: m.fema.gov  
Call: 1-800-621-3362 (TTY: 1-800-462-7585)

Visit a Disaster Recovery Center: Fourth District Locations*

Comanche County
Tomlinson Middle School – Commons Area
702 NW Homestead Drive
Lawton, OK 73505
Hours: Monday – Saturday, 9 a.m. – 7 p.m. (closed Sunday)

Cleveland County
Noble High School
4601 East Etowah Road
Noble, OK 73068
Hours: Monday – Saturday, 9 a.m. – 7 p.m. (closed Sunday)

Grady County
Bridge Creek Elementary School – Upper Grade Cafeteria
2209 East Sooner Road
Blanchard, OK 73010
Hours: Monday – Saturday, 9 a.m. – 7 p.m. (closed Sunday)

Oklahoma Countyceases operations on June 30, 2015
Plaza Mayor at the Crossroads
7000 Crossroads Blvd, Suite 2042
Oklahoma City, OK 73149
Hours: Monday – Saturday, 9 a.m. – 7 p.m. (closed Sunday)

*NOTE: All locations will be closed on July 3-5 in observance of Independence Day

What’s the deadline to register?

For damage sustained to property during the recent storms across the state, the deadlines for registering in 2015 with FEMA are listed by county below.

July 1: Cleveland, Grady, Oklahoma
July 6: Atoka, Bryan, Comanche, Johnston, Kiowa, Le Flore, McClain, McCurtain, Pittsburg, Pottawatomie
July 15: Beckham, Caddo, Canadian, Marshall, McIntosh, Seminole, Wagoner
July 18: Cotton, Choctaw, Roger, Tillman

Other questions?

My office is available and ready to provide advice related to disaster assistance. Please call my Norman office at (405) 329-6500, and someone will help point you in the right direction.