Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Congressman Tom Cole Appointed to NHPRC

May 5, 2003
Press Release

Washington D.C. – Speaker of the House of Representatives, J. Dennis Hastert has appointed Congressman Tom Cole (R-OK) as the new House representative on the 15-member National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), a statutory body affiliated with the National Archives and Records Administration.  The NHPRC supports a wide range of activities to preserve, publish and encourage the use of documentary sources relating to the history of the United States.

"I am confident that Congressman Cole will be a tremendous asset to the NHPRC because of his extensive background and interest in history. Not only has he obtained a Ph.D. in history, was a former history professor and a Watson and Fulbright Fellow, he also has a great amount of respect for our nation's historical narrative and the process of preserving it," Speaker J. Dennis Hastert said.

"I am honored to be a part of a body whose significance can and will mean so much to future generations. We have a wonderful heritage to remember and record for others to enjoy. Preserving the past is an important responsibility," Congressman Tom Cole said.

John Carlin Archivist of the United States and Chairman of the NHPRC said, “I am truly excited that Congressman Cole has agreed to serve on the NHPRC board.  He brings to the Commission, not only a broad knowledge of state and national politics, but a genuine commitment to education and history.  He will be an enormous asset to the Commission and I look forward to formally welcoming him at our next meeting on May 6.”

The NHPRC, established by Congress in 1934, is composed of representatives of the three branches of the Federal government and of professional associations of archivists, historians, documentary editors, and records administrators. Through its grant program, training programs, research services and special projects, the Commission offers advice and assistance to individuals and non-Federal agencies and institutions committed to the preservation and use of America's documentary resources.

Current Commission members are:  John W. Carlin, Archivist of the United States; Nicholas C. Burckel and David W. Brady, representing the President; Charles T. Cullen, representing the Association of Documentary Editors; Christopher Dodd, representing the U.S. Senate; Mary Maples Dunn, representing the American Historical Association; Barbara J. Fields, representing the Organization of American Historians; Alfred Goldberg, representing the Department of Defense; Margaret P. Grafeld, representing the Department of State; J. Kevin Graffagnino, representing American Association for State and Local History; James H. Hutson, representing the Librarian of Congress; David H. Souter, representing the U.S. Supreme Court; Lee Stout, representing the Society of American Archivists; and Roy C. Turnbaugh, representing National Association of  Government Archivists and Records Administrators.